………The story………

So we’ve had this xbox that Brandt got for Christmas. Part of the present was that it was modded. Well 5 or 6 months ago a co-worker gave me his xbox so I could learn to mod it and in the process he’d get a modded xbox. Well he promptly got fired and thus abandoned his xbox. Never heard another word from him… so it’s mine. Well a while back I purchased a hard drive for it but never really did anything with it. This past week I got the urge to screw something up and the closest thing was the xbox. I spent about a week working late into the night, learning lots about the xbox as well as lots of new curse words. >:) I was attempting with a 200GB to replace the stock 4GB. Well one thing led to another and I somehow got the drive locked with the wrong password. So at this point it’s pretty much toast. I have one last thing I want to try later tonight to save the drive, other than that it’ll probably go back to the manufacture. Well I got tired of waiting to unlock this drive and I pulled out a 300GB drive from my PC and decided to use it. Thirty minutes later I had a hacked and upgraded xbox. It’s plain right now, yet oh so cool. I spent a few minutes this morning and put a game, some music and video, and finally some C5 pics. All looks good.

………The Fix………

These are the “very” basic steps I took to softmod the xbox. I plan on doing another one in the next few days and documenting it step by step. For starters all mentioned software was downloaded from “usual sources”.

………The Steps………

  • Downloaded 007 game save hack.
  • Copy hack to mem stick and then transfer to subject xbox HDD.
  • Booted to 007 game, loaded hack as a saved mission, and booted into EvoX.
  • Put xbox on the network and let DHCP take care of the IP.
  • Make backups of software.
  • FTP’d the original C and E drive out for safe keeping.
  • MAKE SURE TO BACKUP MOD. Even though you don’t have one at this time this step is important to create the eeprom.bin file.
  • Install the softmod. I don’t believe this is 100% necessary. I’ll know for sure next time.
  • Remove the original HDD, place in a anti-static bag, and put into the safe for future generations to enjoy.
  • Download xboxhdm and extract.
  • Place your backed up C and E drive in the C and E folder of xboxhd.
  • Place your eeprom.bin in the eeprom folder of xboxhd.
  • Run the bat file to create your iso image of xboxhdm.
  • Burn xboxhd to cd.
  • Install blank large HD into a surrogate PC as a primary master.
  • Boot to xboxhdm.
  • Type xboxhd.
  • Choose #1 then choose #1 again. This will drag you through the rebuild of your blank drive. Just follow directions.
  • Choose #6 to Generate HD key.
  • Reboot with the xboxhdm disk.
  • Chose #3.
  • Type lockhd -a
  • At this point you have an upgraded and modded xbox HDD.
  • Put HDD back into xbox and boot. If all went well you’ll boot right into EvoX.
  • Start loading it up with stuff…
  • Advertisements